This website uses cookies. Please click "Accept and Close" to accept the use of cookies on our website. By continuing to browse our website you consent to the use of cookies on this website.

For more information on how we use cookies please visit our Cookie Policy page, or visit our Privacy notice page for more information on how we manage and use data.


17 Jul 2019
© INPHO/Ole Martin Wold

Linfield exited the Champions League following a four goal defeat to Rosenborg at the Lerkendal Stadion after already being 2-0 down from the first leg in Belfast.

Anders Konradsen opened the scoring for Rosenborg after 20 minutes with a near post header after connecting with a corner.

Linfield reacted well to going behind, crafting first half opportunities through Daniel Kearns and Shayne Lavery while, just before the break, Chris Casement was denied by the outstretched home keeper Andre Hansen.

However, Rosenborg doubled their lead just six minutes after the interval with Konradsen's second of the evening with a well executed volley from inside the area after a Pål André Helland cross was deflected into his path.

Helland might have added a third soon after only to rattle the crossbar with a free-kick before Nigerian substitute Babajide Akintola did made it 3-0 on 69 minutes with a close range header.

Helland did get his name on the scoresheet five minutes from the end, though, with a simple finish after Akintola had teed him up.

Despite the defeat, Linfield now switch to the Europa League when they face Faroe Islands champions HB in the Second Qualifying Round with the first leg next week in Tórshavn.

Rosenborg: Hansen, Hedenstad, Meling, Reginiussen, Konradsen, Helland, de Lanlay, Søderlund, Hovland, Åsen, Lundemo subs Østbø (not used), Denić (not used), Jensen (not used), Trondsen (replaced Hedenstad 46), Akintola (replaced Søderlund 58), Valsvik (not used), Ceide (replaced Konradsen 71)

Linfield: Deane, Larkin, Callacher, Héry, Stewart, Lavery, Clarke, Kearns, Mulgrew, Quinn, Casement subs Moore (not used), Waterworth (replaced Lavery 58), Millar (replaced Stewart 74), Fallon (replaced Mulgrew 59), McGuinness (not used), Mitchell (not used), Hume (not used)