Ballymena United's Kofi Balmer (c) Presseye


Seven players from the top two NI Football League divisions have been selected in the squad for Northern Ireland Under-19’s European qualifiers.

Manager Stephen Frail has selected five players from the Danske Bank Premiership in Aaron Donnelly (Cliftonville), Kofi Balmer (Ballymena United), Caoimhin McConnell (Cliftonville) and Jordan Jenkins (Glenavon).

There are also three representatives from the Bluefin Sport Championship as Declan Dunne (Portadown, on loan from Cliftonville), Luke Wilson (Portadown) and Jack O’Mahony (HW Welders, on loan from Glenavon) are included in the squad.

Northern Ireland are hosting a mini-tournament as part of the first stage of qualification for next year’s UEFA Under-19 European Championships in Armenia.

The Northern Ireland Under-19’s start against Poland on Wednesday 14 November at Shamrock Park with their second game against Serbia on Saturday 17 November at the Oval.

Frail’s boys finish their campaign back at Shamrock Park on Tuesday 20 November against Kazakhstan.

Full Northern Ireland Under-19 squad

Goalkeepers – Declan Dunne (Portadown, on loan from Cliftonville), Ollie Webber (Crystal Palace).

Defenders – Jack O’Mahony (Harland And Wolff Welders, on loan from Glenavon), Aaron Donnelly (Cliftonville), Kofi Balmer (Ballymena United), Daniel Finlayson (Rangers), Sean Graham (Blackpool), Tom Leighton (Watford), Ethan Patterson (Aston Villa).

Midfielders – Alfie McCalmont (Leeds United), Harry Robinson (Oldham Athletic), Luke Wilson (Portadown), Cameron Palmer (Rangers), Caoimhin McConnell (Cliftonville), Aaron Heap (Oxford United), Ethan Galbraith (Manchester United).

Forwards – Tyrone Lewthwaite (Rotherham United), Liam Smyth (Stevenage), Jordan Jenkins (Glenavon), Lewis McCann (Dunfermline).