Dean Curry (OG) (47)
Mark Kelly (81)


Aaron Harkin (22)
Michael McCrudden (27)
Stephen Curry (49)
Michael McCrudden (83)


Michael McCrudden scored twice as leaders Institute won on the road (Picture: Brian Little/


Institute kept their noses in front at the top of the Bluefin Sport Championship with victory over Ballyclare Comrades at Dixon Park.

The visitors struck the front in the 22nd minute when Aaron Harkin unleashed a great effort from 22 yards which flew into the net.

Institute looked to have the game completely in their control five minute later when Michael McCrudden danced his way past two opponents to make space for a shot from the edge of the box and he made no mistake, dispatching the ball into the roof of the net.

The home side's performance improved considerably in the second half. They grabbed a goal back on 47 minutes, when a free-kick played into the box was headed into his own net by Dean Curry. It might have been even better for Comrades seconds after the restart, when Eoin Kane struck the post from  an angle 5 yards out.

However, Institute soon restored their two-goal advantage, when Stephen Curry produced a fine lob over the 'keeper from just inside the box.

Comrades had a great chance to reduce the deficit on 67 minutes, when a penalty was awarded for a foul on Mark Kelly. After the team having missed several penalties this season a new man stepped up to take this one, but Matty Parker's effort was saved by Martin Gallagher.

In the 81st minute the home side did get a second goal, when Kelly stuck his leg out to send the ball past the 'keeper from six yards from a Samuel McIlveen shot.

Once again, however, the visitors' were able to react quickly with another goal, this time within a minute, when Michael McCrudden beat the offside trap to score from 13 yards.

Ballyclare Comrades: Flood, Woods, Parker, McQuitty, Youle, McCart, McIlveen, Dobbin, Middleton, Kane, Kelly subs Gray (not used), McQuillan (not used), Coulter (not used), Campbell (not used), Gilmour (not used)

Institute: Gallagher, R. Morrow, Seydak, Scoltock, D. Curry, Grace, S. Curry, A. Harkin, Jarvis, McCrudden, Dunne subs Boyle (replaced McCrudden 89), J. Morrow (not used), Wilson (replaced Harkin 73), Brown (replaced Dunne 53), McCarron (not used)

Referee: Shane Andrews

Tags:  Ballyclare Comrades  Institute