John Uprichard (90 1)


James Wright (15p)
Daire Rooney (90)


Daire Rooney (12) is congratulated on his winning goal (© David Hunter)


Lisburn Distillery scuppered Annagh United's hopes of returning to the top of the table thanks to goals from James Wright and Daire Rooney at Shamrock Park.

The Whites, themselves moving into fourth spot, took the lead after a quarter-of-an-hour when Wright stepped up to beat keeper Shane McPartlan from the spot after referee Paul Costello had noticed an infringement during an attack that saw both Nick Beta and Conor Curran denied.

Annagh might have levelled on 30 minutes but Brian McIlmurray couldn't get a strong enough touch to Jonah Mitchell cross from the right.

Distillery were awarded a second penalty on 39 minutes following a Michael Gault handball but, on this occasion, Wright smashed his spot-kick against the crossbar.

Then, on the stroke of half-time, Annagh were reduced to ten men when Gault picked up his second caution of the game for unsporting behaviour.

The visitors tried to make their numerical advantage count in the second half with Wright and Paul Young having chances early on while, for Annagh, Scott McCordick came closest with an overhead kick which Jonah Nicholl had to be alert to deal with.

Annagh pressed for the equaliser as the game slipped into the final ten minutes but a lack of presence up front meant that any opportunities created went unfulfilled.

Distillery put the game to bed right at the end of normal time through second half substitute Daire Rooney when he pounced as the ball fell loose to beat McPartlan one-on-one.

Annagh responded almost immediately through John Uprichard's effort from a corner but it was too late to spark a revival with the Whites holding on to collect the points.

Annagh United: McPartlan, McConville, Stewart, Campbell, Lyttle, Henderson, Taylor, McCordick, Mitchell, Gault, McIlmurray subs Holmes (not used), Uprichard (replaced McCordick 68), McDonald (replaced Stewart 57), Geraghty (not used), Convery (not used)

Lisburn Distillery: Nicholl, O'Hanlon, Curran, S. Moore, Reid, Wright, McCaw, Harris, Young, Clarke, Beta subs Saunders (not used), Swann (replaced McCaw 78), Rooney (replaced Beta 74), McCullough (not used), Withers (replaced Young 74) 

Referee: Paul Costello