Ian Curran (OG) (15)
Jordan Baxter (25)
Jordan Baxter (50)


Kevin McArdle (14)
Mark Hughes (54)
Marty Havern (63)
Marcus McKeown (68)
Keith Johnston (83)


Keith Johnston completed the scoring for Newry (Picture: Darren Kidd/


Newry hit four second half goals to storm to victory on this trip to Bangor.

The visitors grabbed the lead on 14 minutes after Marty Havern pulled the ball back from the touchline for Kevin McArdle to slam low from 16 yards into the bottom right hand corner of the net.

Bangor levelled a minute later when new signings Matthew Kerr and Jordan Baxter combined before the unfortunate Ian Curran turned the ball into his own net.

At the other end Havern was out of luck on 21 minutes when his 22-yard blockbuster crashed off the crossbar at the corner of the right hand post and bar.

The Seasiders moved in front on 25 minutes when Lucas fired home Kerr's left wing cross from fifteen yards into the bottom left hand corner.

Bangor increased their lead on 50 minutes when Baxter sent the ball over the line from point blank range following confusion in the Newry defence after a free kick. 

Four minutes later Mark Hughes shot home after 'keeper Darren Gibbons pushed a free-kick onto the post and the ball rebounded back to the edge of the area to peg the score back to 3-2.

Newry then levelled on 63 minutes after Havern's 11-yard blaster from the right gave Gibbons no chance.

And the visitors were back in the lead on 68 minutes after Marcus McKeown headed home Keith Johnston's cross from close range.

Bangor were thwarted on 79 minutes after forward Dwaine Beattie ran through, but 'keeper Peter Murphy was out to block and than take the ball at the second attempt. Five minutes later home striker Keith Armstrong skied over from eight yards.

The visitors clinched three valuable points on 83 minutes when substitute Mark Patton's close range header from a corner on the left gave Gibbons no chance.

Bangor: Gibbons, G. Beattie, Pike, Long, Calvert, Mulgrew, Armstrong, Lucas, Baxter, Kerr, D. Beattie subs Craig (not used), Justin (replaced Mulgrew 74), Watson (not used), McComb (not used), Shaw (not used)

Newry City: Murphy, McArdle, King, Mullen, Curran, McCann, Havern, McKeown, M. McCabe, Hughes, Johnston subs McMullan (replaced Johnston 90), Grant (not used), S. McCabe (not used), Patton (replaced McKeown 76), Lowry (replaced Havern 69)

Referee: Ben McMaster

Tags:  Newry City