Ballymena United manager David Jeffrey (c) Philip Magowan


Ballymena United manager David Jeffrey had a busy evening with six new arrivals, three contract renewals and four departures from the Showgrounds announced ahead of next season.

Eager to progress on last season’s sixth place finish in the Danske Bank Premiership which resulted in defeat to Cliftonville in the Europa League Playoff semi-finals earlier this month, Jeffrey has added four new midfielders and two defenders to the ranks.

New arrivals include; Jonathan Addis (Glentoran), Shane McGinty (Ballinamallard United), James Knowles (Glentoran), Reece Glendinning (Linfield), Jude Winchester (Cliftonville) and Andrew McGrory (Glenavon).

A busy night of activity also included extended deals for three current players Thomas McDermott, Conor Quigley (both two years) and Stephen McAlorum (one year).

Departuring the Braid are four players, who will not be offered new terms; Francis McCaffrey, Conor McCloskey, Emmet Friars and Patrick Weir.

Friars has already moved to link up with brother Sean at Limavady United, as the announced departures take the number leaving United to eight this summer. Following in the footsteps of Kyle Owens and Gary Thompson (both Crusaders) & Kevin Braniff and Johnny Flynn (both Portadown).

Tags:  Ballymena United