Ian Parkhill (38)
Stephen Lowry (45)
Eoin Bradley (46)


Ben Moore gets ahead of Warrenpoint's Eamon Scannell (©INPHO/Lorcan Doherty)


Coleraine got the new campaign off to a blistering start with a three-goal defeat of Warrenpoint Town at The Showgrounds.

The Bannsiders moved in front on 38 minutes but went in at the break with a two-goal advantage.

The opener arrived when Darren McCauley brought the ball into the area down the left. He laid if off for Josh Carson who fired across the face of goal for Stephen Lowry to get a touch but his effort was only turned away as far as Ian Parkhill who duly returned the ball with aplomb past Johnny Parr.

Not to be denied, Lowry added the second on the stroke of half-time. Again McCauley was involved after he found Eoin Bradley who, in turn, picked out Lowry who kept his balance to touch the ball home at the near post.

Then, a minute into the second half, Bradley knocked home Coleraine's third. Town keeper Parr totally misjudged the ball as he came out to the edge of his area to deal with a Carson cross with Bradley making no mistake when presented with the open goal.

Despite this double whammy either side of the break Warrenpoint did respond well with Fra McCaffrey seeing a corner turned onto the crossbar by Chris Johns before Alan O'Sullivan and Ciaran O'Connor were both denied by a combination of the woodwork and the keeper with around a quarter-of-an-hour remaining.

BBC Sport NI coverage

Coleraine: Johns, Moore, Harkin, McCauley, Lowry, Gawne, Bradley, Carson, Crown, McConaghie, Parkhill subs Doherty (not used), McClelland (not used), Owens (not used), Whiteside (replaced Gawne 84), Brennan (replaced Parkhill 90)

Warrenpoint Town: Parr, Foster, Hughes, Moan, McGrandles, O'Sullivan, McCaffrey, M. Lynch, Scannel, O'Connor, Wallace subs Turker, Reilly (replaced Foster 46), Brennan (replaced M. Lynch 63), J. Lynch (not used), Roohi (not used), Watters (replaced McGrandles 46), Halfpenny (not used)

Referee: Lee Tavinder

Attendance: 912

Tags:  Coleraine  Warrenpoint Town