Daniel Hughes (14)


Andrew Waterworth (47)
Andrew Waterworth (53)
Andrew Waterworth (60p)


Linfield are presented with the Gibson Cup (Picture: Jonathan Porter/PressEye.com)


Linfield are the 2016/17 Danske Bank Premiership champions thanks to a dramatic second half Andrew Waterworth hat-trick at Solitude.

David Healy's side needed a point to secure their first title in five seasons but fell behind inside the opening quarter-of-an-hour when Daniel Hughes glanced home a header from a quickly taken corner.

With Linfield's only challengers Crusaders running riot against Glenavon that goal wrestled the Gibson Cup back to Seaview and set up a real possibility of an unexpected twist.

However, Linfield's nerves were settled a little on 47 minutes when Waterworth bagged his first of the game with a close range finish.

And he handed the Blues the advantage on 53 minutes with a superb solo effort before completing the scoring from the spot after an hour. 

Cliftonville: Burke, McGovern, Ives, Ramsey, Curran, Garrett, M. Donnelly, Hughes, Winchester, J. Donnelly, Cosgrove subs Bonner (replaced Hughes 65), Lavery (replaced M. Donnelly 65), McNicholl (replaced Winchester 65), Reynolds (not used), Nelson (not used)

Linfield: Carroll, Stafford, Haughey, Callacher, Waterworth, Lowry, Burns, Clarke, Casement, Mulgrew, Quinn subs Stewart (replaced Burns 78), Millar (replaced Casement 81), Ward (replaced Waterworth 87), Carson (not used), Deane (not used)

Referee: Ian McNabb

Attendance: 2129

Match Gallery

Tags:  Cliftonville  Linfield