Andrew Johnston (Managing Director) and Brian Adams (Chairman) welcome Jonny Madill as new Independent Board Member (c) Presseye


The NI Football League are pleased to announce the appointment of Jonny Madill as a new Independent Board Member.

Having grown up in Northern Ireland, Madill is currently a partner and sports lawyer in the Sports Group at Sheridans, a leading sports, media and entertainment law firm in London. Working across both the UK and Irish sports industry he has advised international federations, national bodies, leagues and clubs across multiple sports on a range of legal and commercial issues and was also recently named in the Sport for Business ’30 under 30' of Ireland's Future Sporting Leaders in May 2019.

The post of Independent Board Member was publicly advertised following the departure of former independent member Peter Dornan in July 2019, who served the NI Football League for 6 years, since the formation of the company.

Andrew Johnston, Managing Director of the NI Football League stated, “We are delighted to appoint someone of the calibre of Jonny into the NI Football League Board of Directors, with vast experience in a number of key fields – we look forward to working with him to drive the business forward.”

“We were taken aback by the quality of applicants interested in this role, but we are confident Jonny will be a great fit alongside our existing board. I would also like to thank out-going independent board member Peter Dornan for his service and commitment to NIFL.”

Upon his appointment Jonny Madill stated: “The NI Football League is at an exciting stage of its development and has a real opportunity to continue its recent growth, whether through engaging new and existing fans, improving its governance structures, or generating new revenue streams for the league and its member clubs. As someone who is passionate about the development of football and sport in Northern Ireland, I’m looking forward to having the opportunity to make a positive contribution to the future of the league and the game.”

The Board of Directors for the 2019/2020 season is as follows; Brian Adams (Ards, Chairman), Gerard Lawlor (Cliftonville, Vice-Chairman), Andrew Conn (Linfield Ladies), Colin Kennedy (Independent), Jonathan Madill (Independent), Colin McKendry (Coleraine), Aidan Murphy (Armagh City), Colin Russell (Knockbreda).