Kyle Owens (17)


Ryan Mayse (11)
Ryan Mayse (37)
Cormac Burke (55)


Ryan Harpur and Terry Fitzpatrick lift the cup aloft (©INPHO/Stephen Hamilton)


Dungannon Swifts defeated outgoing holders Ballymena United in the BetMcLean League Cup Final to win the trophy for the first time in their history.

The Swifts moved in front after 11 minutes when Ryan Mayse connected with Ryan Harpur's header to send a half volley past Ross Glendinning.

Ballymena United levelled within six minutes, however, when Leroy Millar delivered an inswinging corner which Kyle Owens rose highest to meet to nod the ball beyond Stuart Addis.

But the Swifts regained the advantage eight minutes from the break through Mayse's second of the game. Glendinning had kept out his initial effort from Kris Lowe's cross but Mayse was quick to knock home the rebound.

And Dungannon extended their advantage ten minutes into the second half thanks to Cormac Burke's superb curling effort into the corner of the net.

Rodney McAree's side were reduced to ten men late in the game when skipper Harpur was dismissed following an incident with Kofi Balmer but they held on to claim the spoils.

BBC Sport NI coverage

Ballymena United: Glendinning, Kane, Owens, Friel, McCloskey, Burns, Balmer, Ervin, Millar, Faulkner, McMurray subs Flynn (not used), Weir (replaced Burns 65), Shevlin (replaced Faulkner 65), McCaffrey (replaced Balmer 83), Quigley (not used)

Dungannon Swifts: Addis, Hegarty, Armstrong, Mayse, McElroy, Harpur, O'Rourke, Lowe, Clucas, Burke, Hutchinson subs Coleman (not used), Wilson (replaced Clucas 46), Fitzpatrick (replaced Burke 82), Teggart (replaced Mayse 75), Campbell (not used)

Referee: Tim Marshall