Johnny Taylor (30)


Johnny Taylor (Picture: Lorcan Doherty/


A solitary Johnny Taylor goal proved enough for last season's losing finalists Ballymena United to overcome hosts Limavady United.

Taylor opened the scoring for the visitors after half-an-hour with a back post header after a Mark Magennis free-kick was missed by 'keeper Ray Kelly.

Paul Owens wasted a chance to level for the Roesiders in first half stoppage time only to pull his low shot wide after weaving his way into the area.

After the break the sides traded chances with Gavin Taggart coming closest for Ballymena with a rasping shot just over midway through the half before, a short time later, only a last gasp Paddy McNally header denied Cathair Friel from equalising.

Later in the game, Gavin Taggart went close for the visitors before Darren Henderson failed to make the most of an opportunity in the closing moments.

Limavady United: Kelly, Devlin, McIvor, McClelland, Carlin, Logue, Owens, Tommons, McMullan, Friel, Harkin subs Duffy (not used), Morrison (replaced Harkin 79), Jennings (replaced McMullan 54), O'Hara (replaced Logue 85)

Ballymena United: Nelson, McVey, Taylor, Rodger, Ervin, Taggart, Thompson, Jenkins, Magennis, Cushley, Henderson subs E. Kane (not used), Shevlin (replaced Magennis 67), Gawley (replaced Thompson 74), McNally (replaced Rodger 52), Faulkner (not used)

Referee: John Deighan

Tags:  Ballymena United  Limavady Utd