This website uses cookies. Please click "Accept and Close" to accept the use of cookies on our website. By continuing to browse our website you consent to the use of cookies on this website.

For more information on how we use cookies please visit our Cookie Policy page, or visit our Privacy notice page for more information on how we manage and use data.


10 Jul 2019
© INPHO/William Cherry Birger Meling clears the ball from Jordan Stewart

Linfield slipped to a two-goal defeat in their Champions League First Qualifying Round, First Leg clash with Rosenborg BK at Windsor Park.

The Blues started brightly with Niall Quinn nodding a Chris Casement cross over early in proceedings but Rosenborg's danger was soon demonstrated when Marius Lundemo drove an effort just past the right post before Tore Reginiuessen hit the woodwork with a long range effort.

Rosenborg opened the scoring on 22 minutes. A cross into the box wasn't dealt with by the home defence allowing Mike Jensen the opportunity to drill the ball low past Gareth Deane at the back post.

The Norwegian visitors came close to doubling their advantage early in the second half when Alexsander Søderlund headed towards goal but Mark Stafford was well placed to nod the ball away.

But Søderlund wasn't to be denied on 69 minutes, doubling Rosenborg's lead from inside the area after Anders Konradsen had teed the ball up.

Linfield pushed in the latter parts of the game in attempt to reduce the deficit, coming closest when Shayne Lavery whistled a 25-yard effort just wide while Andrew Waterworth had the ball in the net but this was ruled out offside.

Linfield: Deane, Stafford, Callacher, Waterworth, Héry, Stewart, Millar, Clarke, Mulgrew, Quinn, Casement subs Moore (not used), Lavery (replaced Millar 68), Forde (not used), Kearns (not used), Fallon (replaced Stewart 89), McGuinness (not used), Mitchell (not used)

Rosenborg BK: Hansen, Hedenstad, Meling, Reginiussen, Jensen, Konradsen, Søderlund, Hovland, Akintola, Åsen, Lundemo subs Østbø (not used), Denic (not used), Helland (replaced Åsen 70), de Lanlay (replaced Akintola 61), Trondsen (replaced Konradsen 72), Valsvik (not used), Ceide (not used)