This website uses cookies. Please click "Accept and Close" to accept the use of cookies on our website. By continuing to browse our website you consent to the use of cookies on this website.

For more information on how we use cookies please visit our Cookie Policy page, or visit our Privacy notice page for more information on how we manage and use data.

Womens Premiership


03 Oct 2019

Ten Danske Bank Women’s Premiership stars have been called up to Northern Ireland’s senior squad for a training camp beginning on Saturday.

Kenny Shiels’ side have no fixtures in October but they have set up a four-day training camp in order to build team cohesion.

Glentoran make up half of the Northern Ireland based contingent with defenders Jessica Foy and Yasmin White, along with midfield trio Demi Vance, Nadene Caldwell and Sam Kelly included.

Linfield’s trio Ashley Hutton, Abbie Magee and Chloe McCarron are also included, along with North Belfast veterans Julie Nelson and Marissa Callaghan of Crusaders and Cliftonville respectively.

Former Linfield stars Megan Bell and Louise McDaniel - who joined Durham and Blackburn respectively this season - are also included.

The Senior Women started their UEFA Euro 2021 qualifiers with a defeat to Norway before a header from Blues defender Hutton in stoppage time earned them a 2-2 against Wales in Newport.

Shiels side will next travel to Norway in their UEFA Euro 2021 qualifiers on Friday 8 November before welcoming Wales to Seaview on Tuesday 12 November.

Goalkeepers: Becky Flaherty (Sheffield United) Kathryn Connery (Unattached)

Defenders: Julie Nelson (Crusaders) Ashley Hutton (Linfield), Freya Holdaway (Crystal Palace), Jessica Foy (Glentoran), Natalie Johnson (Leicester City), Rachel Newborough (Charlton Athletic), Yasmin White (Glentoran), Abbie Magee (Linfield)

Midfielders: Rachel Furness (Tottenham Hotspur), Sarah McFadden (Durham), Marissa Callaghan (Cliftonville) Demi Vance (Glentoran) Chloe McCarron (Linfield), Ciara Watling (Crystal Palace), Megan Bell (Durham), Nadene Caldwell (Glentoran), Sam Kelly (Glentoran)

Forwards: Simone Magill (Everton), Lauren Wade (Thróttur Reykjavík FC), Louise McDaniel (Blackburn Rovers)