This website uses cookies. Please click "Accept and Close" to accept the use of cookies on our website. By continuing to browse our website you consent to the use of cookies on this website.

For more information on how we use cookies please visit our Cookie Policy page, or visit our Privacy notice page for more information on how we manage and use data.



08 Aug 2020
© PressEye Bastien Hery opened the scoring for Linfield
Second half goals from Bastien Hery and new signing Christy Manzinga helped Linfield to victory over Tre Fiori in their UEFA Champions League Preliminary Round semi-final in Nyon, Switzerland.
The French duo struck to ensure the Blues booked a place in Tuesday's final against either Drita or Inter Club d'Escaldes with a Qualifying Round place awaiting the victors.
Linfield enjoyed the majority of possession in a first half of few opportunities with perhaps the best chances coming around the ten minute mark when Shayne Lavery's effort from a Niall Quinn through ball was blocked.
Kirk Millar was twice denied by the Tre Fiori keeper early in the second half as David Healy's side stepped up a gear.
But the deadlock was eventually broken on 71 minutes when Hery unleashed a great right foot strike into the top corner to give keeper Aldo Simoncini no chance.
Then, with seven minutes remaining, Manzinga made sure of Linfield's progression with a tap in after Simoncini misjudged a Chris Johns punt forward.
Tre Fiori were reduced to ten men late in the game when Giacomo Procacci was dismissed by Hungarian referee Balazs Berke for a challenge on Millar.
Tre Fiori: A. Simoncini, D'Addario, Misimović, D. Simoncini, Kalissa, Santoni, Lunardini, Gjurchinoski, Apezteguia, Gregorio, Procacci subs De Angelis (not used), Angelini (replaced D. Simoncini 89), Apezteguia (replaced Marzeglia 76), Greco (not used), Dolcini (not used), Figone (replaced Kalissa 70), Della Valle (not used)
Linfield: Johns, Larkin, Callacher, Millar, Lavery, Nasseri, Kearns, McClean, Mulgrew, Boyle, Quinn subs Moore (not used), Stafford (not used), Waterworth (replaced Nasseri 65), Manzinga (replaced McClean 66), Clarke (not used), Hery (replaced Lavery 67), Pepper (not used)