This website uses cookies. Please click "Accept and Close" to accept the use of cookies on our website. By continuing to browse our website you consent to the use of cookies on this website.

For more information on how we use cookies please visit our Cookie Policy page, or visit our Privacy notice page for more information on how we manage and use data.



19 Dec 2020
© PressEye
The curtain may have come down on prematurely on the Danske Bank Premiership for the calendar year but the last games of 2020 were as typically action packed and dramatic as ever.
Coleraine, Glenavon and Linfield all collected the three points on offer while a stoppage time leveller ensured the spoils were shared between Ballymena United and Glentoran.
Coleraine substitute James McLaughlin wrapped things up in the evening kick-off as his two goals handed the Bannsiders victory over Cliftonville at Solitude.
He came off the bench early in the second half with the game still scoreless and within 14 seconds had headed Oran Kearney's side in front with his first touch, and then made sure of victory late in the game with a finish from outside the area after dispossessing Garry Breen.
Earlier in the day champions Linfield hit four goals without reply past Dungannon Swifts at Windsor Park.
All the goal action was confined to the second half with Andrew Waterworth and Shayne Lavery finding the net to establish a comfortable lead for the Blues before Jimmy Callacher popped up with two almost identical goals - both headers from Kirk Millar corners - to complete the scoring.
A goal either side of the break saw Glenavon come from behind to defeat Warrenpoint Town at Milltown.
Alan O'Sullivan had handed 'Point a fifth minute lead but Conor McCloskey levelled for the Lurgan Blues two minutes before half-time with Danny Purkis bagging the winner on 51 minutes.
Meanwhile, at The Showgrounds, Marcus Kane earned Glentoran a point with a stoppage time leveller just as it looked like Ciaran Kelly's 66th minute goal had handed Ballymena United the win.