This website uses cookies. Please click "Accept and Close" to accept the use of cookies on our website. By continuing to browse our website you consent to the use of cookies on this website.

For more information on how we use cookies please visit our Cookie Policy page, or visit our Privacy notice page for more information on how we manage and use data.



28 Jul 2022
© Pacemaker Press Chris Shields tackles Amahl Pellegrino

Linfield made their exit from the Champions League following defeat to Bodo/Glimt in Norway.

The Blues had led from the first leg a week ago in Belfast, but Glimt levelled the tie on aggregate after just six minutes through Hugo Vetlesen with an effort from inside the box into the far corner.

Linfield were reduced to ten men on 21 minutes when Kirk Millar was dismissed for handball in the area and, from the spot-kick that followed, Victor Boniface stepped up to give Glimt the advantage.

It got worse for the Blues soon after when goals from Amahl Pellegrino and Ulrik Saltnes before the half-hour mark fired the home side into a commanding position.

And they furthered their advantage with a further two strikes early in the second half via Pellegrino and Runar Espejord, before Alfons Sampsted struck with around a quarter-of-an-hour remaining while Espejord completed the scoring late on.

Linfield continue their European journey in the UEFA Europa League against Swiss side FC Zurich. The first leg takes place at Windsor Park on August 4th with the return a week later.

Bodo/Glimt: Haikin, Sampsted, Høibråten, Wembangomo, Amundsen, Pellegrino, Boniface, Vetlesen, Saltnes, Hagen, Mvuka subs Andersen (not used), Espejord (replaced Boniface 46), Konradsen (replaced Saltnes 46), Vetti (not used), Sjøvold (not used), Nordås (not used), Sørli (replaced Pellegrino 69), Tjærandsen-Skau (replaced Wembangomo 46), Koomson (replaced Mvuka 64)

Linfield: Johns, Roscoe, Shields, Millar, Stewart, McDaid, Hall, M. Clarke, Finlayson, Fallon, Mulgrew subs Williamson (not used), Walsh (not used), Newberry (not used), McClean (replaced Mulgrew 56), McKee (not used), Devine (not used), Vertainen (not used), Pepper (not used), Quinn (replaced McDaid 61), A. Clarke (replaced Fallon 56), Palmer (replaced Stewart 56), Archer (replaced M. Clarke 75)