Matthew Buchanan (60)
Ryan Campbell (85)


Dergview manager Richard Clarke (Picture: Freddie Parkinson/


Richard Clarke claimed the bragging rights over former Portadown team-mate Matthew Tipton as Dergview ended a sequence of poor results by defeating newly-crowned champions Warrenpoint Town at Darragh Park on Saturday.

Second half goals by Mattie Buchanan and Ryan Campbell condemned the ‘Point to a rare defeat as the Castlederg outfit rediscovered that winning feeling with a confident display.

The visitors shaded the verdict in terms of possession in the first half but Dergview ruled the roost in the second and ran out thoroughly deserving.

Without the suspended Jude Ballard and the injured Aaron Arkinson, Dergview initially played second fiddle to the former Premiership outfit although striker Richard Lecky had a goal ruled out for offside with half an hour on the clock.

At the other end Town threatened sporadically however an excellent block by the returning Colin Robinson, a timely last-gasp tackle by centre-back partner Thomas Wray and a solid showing from Shane Porter filling in at left-back ensured the contest remained scoreless at the interval.

In the second half Dergview took control and Campbell should have opened the scoring after a sharp turn but his shot lacked the necessary power and a defender got back to block the ball on the line.

Town though failed to heed the warning and shortly after the hour Buchanan made his mark by heading a Walsh corner kick back across goal and into the net with the help of a slight deflection.

Dergview’s top goalscorer Campbell then added a second with 10 minutes remaining.

Blaine Burns carved apart the visiting rearguard for the galloping Cashel to put the ball on their proverbial plate with a teasing low cross from the right and Campbell swept it into a gaping net.

Dergview: McCusker, M. Buchanan, S. Porter, Wray, Robinson, Cashel, Burns, Walsh, Falconer, Lecky, Campbell subs Dennison (replaced Campbell 90+3), G. Porter (not used), Wallace (replaced Burns 83), G. Sproule (not used)

Warrenpoint Town: Maguire, McVeigh, McGuigan, Traynor, Dempster, McMenamin, Donnelly, Murray, Moan, McKenna, Reilly subs Parr (not used), Lynch (replaced Donnelly 60), Dane (not used), Croskery (replaced McMenamin 60), Cowan (not used)

Referee: Garvin Taggart

Tags:  Dergview  Warrenpoint Town