19 Sep 2020

The NI Football League is delighted to announce the fixture schedule for the 2020/21 Danske Bank Premiership season.

Today marks the four week countdown to the start of the new season.

Following the request by the Premiership clubs, the structure of the new Premiership season will remain unchanged; with 38 league games scheduled which includes the league ‘split’ for the final five fixtures.

The post-split season will commence on Saturday 30 April 2021 with the final round of fixtures for the 2020/21 Danske Bank Premiership season taking place on Saturday 22 May 2021.

The return of supporters to Premiership stadiums remains a priority for the NI Football League and member clubs with discussions ongoing between key stakeholders including, government departments, local authorities and other sporting bodies

Supporters should note that games may be subject to change for broadcasting purposes.

The season kicks off on Saturday 17 October 2020 with some mouth-watering clashes as Portadown return to the top-flight after a three year absence with a derby clash against Glenavon, there is also another big game as rivals Coleraine and Ballymena United kick-off their league season at the Coleraine Showgrounds.

Champions Linfield start the defence of the Gibson Cup at home to Carrick Rangers, whilst in the other games Cliftonville host Glentoran, Larne are at home to Dungannon Swifts and Crusaders travel to Warrenpoint Town.

Please note that fixtures for the 2020/21 NIFL Championship and NIFL Premier Intermediate League seasons are still unconfirmed and will be communicated at the earliest availability following the conclusion of the ongoing appeal regarding the curtailment of the 2019/20 season lodged with the IFA Appeals Board.