05 Aug 2021

The ninth Annual General Meeting of the Northern Ireland Football League was held tonight (Thursday 5 August 2021).

Presiding over the meeting at the Mervyn Brown Suite at Windsor Park, NIFL Chairman Gerard Lawlor addressed member clubs who were both in attendance and joined remotely through an online webinar.

The Chairman noted the successes of the 2020/2021 season but was honest of his personal disappointment that Championship and Premier Intermediate League football could not be played, despite the best efforts of the NIFL Board.

Acknowledgments were made to the efforts of the clubs. In closing Mr. Lawlor noted in particular the dedication of the NIFL staff and the work of the NIFL Board through a difficult season.

Financial consultant Mechelle Law presented the statement of accounts and the balance sheet of the organisation for the year ended 31 May 2021.

Colin Kennedy was appointed as Chairman of the NI Football League Board following Gerard Lawlor’s decision to not seek re-election. In addition, Colin Russell was appointed as Vice-Chairman of the NIFL Board with Keith Boyd nominated by the Premiership Management Committee for position on the NIFL Board, which was approved by member clubs.

Mr. Kennedy took Chair of the remainder of the meeting, thanking outgoing Chairman Gerard Lawlor for his leadership and efforts during the past year, and wished Mr. Lawlor the best of success in his new role as the first Chief Executive Officer of the NI Football League.

Following elections the NIFL Board of Directors for the 2021/2022 season are as follows: Colin Kennedy (Independent, Chairman), Colin Russell (Knockbreda, Vice-Chairman), Keith Boyd (Dungannon Swifts), Andrew Conn (Linfield Ladies), Jonny Madill (Independent), Colin McKendry (Coleraine), Connaire McGreevy (Warrenpoint Town), Aidan Murphy (Armagh City).