Womens Premiership


31 Aug 2022

The NI Football League would like to extend their congratulations to two clubs who will join the Women’s Premiership for the 2023 season.

The move follows a strategic review of the Women’s Premiership and following consultation with our colleagues in the NIWFA we are delighted to welcome newly crowned Championship winners Larne FC Women and runners up Ballymena United FC as new members.

NIFL Chief Executive Gerard Lawlor stated, “We are proud of the role NIFL has played in the development of women’s football in recent years and the expansion reflects our commitment to its further growth.

“Our member clubs and their fanbase continues to grow and we are pleased to support this as we provide an exciting new ten team league for 2023.”

The expansion of the top-flight of women’s football from eight clubs to ten for next season will also mean that as originally planned, there will be no relegation from the league this season.