Womens Premiership


13 Oct 2023

Champions Glentoran Women ended the season on a winning note with a derby victory on the night they were presented with the impressive Sports Direct Women’s Premiership trophy but there was no great escape for Ballymena United Women.

Having already clinched the title at the weekend, the Glens had the small matter of rivals Linfield Women to get past before being crowned champions for the third time in four seasons.

But, in the end, it all went to form as Demi Vance twice found the net – once in each half – to help 'The Invincibles' finish the season unbeaten.

At the foot of the table Ballymena United faced a derby challenge of their own away to Larne Women. The Sky Blues knew they needed a victory – and for Mid Ulster Ladies to lose away to Sion Swifts Ladies – to stand any chance of survival.

With Mid Ulster going four goals down after half-an-hour, United’s fate seemed very much in their own hands, but they were ultimately undone by a Rachel Robinson winner for Larne two minutes into stoppage time.

Mid Ulster went on to lose 5-2 to Sion. Aoibhe O’Neill opened the scoring early on from the spot, Kelly Crompton helped herself to a brace midway through the first half with Tara O’Connor-Farren adding a fourth just before the break.

Sarah Buchanan struck twice for Mid Ulster in the second half, either side of a second for O’Connor-Farren.

Runners-up Cliftonville Ladies ended their campaign with defeat to Crusaders Strikers at Seaview.

Amy McGivern and Jess Rea struck for the Crues midway through the second half, with Kirsty McGuinness bagging a stoppage time consolation for the Reds.

Meanwhile, at the Bluebell Stadium, Lisburn Ladies ended their season on a high with a 3-1 defeat of Derry City Women.