17 Apr 2024

The Championship Team of the Year for the 2023/2024 season has been decided as part of the NI Football Awards.

Voted for by the NI Football Writers' Association and the Playr-Fit Championship managers the Team of the Year features four players from league leaders Portadown and four from new boys Bangor.

Ports stars Lee Chapman, Eamon Fyfe, Ryan Mayse and Gary Thompson are joined in the select squad by the Bangor quartet of Lewis Francis, Scott McArthur, Reece Neale and goalkeeper James Taylor.

Dundela's Jordan Jenkins and H&W Welders hitman Matthew Ferguson form a lethal strike partnership up top, while Institute's commanding defender Shaun Leppard also makes the team.

The Championship all-stars will be honoured at the NI Football Awards, which will be staged at Belfast's Crowne Plaza on Saturday night. The gala event is jointly organised by NIFWA and the Northern Ireland Football League.

Championship Team of the Year

GK: James Taylor (Bangor)

RB: Lee Chapman (Portadown)
CB: Shaun Leppard (Institute)
CB: Lewis Francis (Bangor)
LB: Reece Neale (Bangor)

RM: Ryan Mayse (Portadown)
CM: Gary Thompson (Portadown)
CM: Scott McArthur (Bangor)
LM: Eamon Fyfe (Portadown)

FW: Jordan Jenkins (Dundela)
FW: Matthew Ferguson (HW Welders)