22 Apr 2024
Kyle McClean

Kyle McClean was named the Dream Spanish Homes Player of the Year at the NI Football Awards this weekend.

The Linfield midfielder scooped the big award of the night, as he was voted the Dream Spanish Homes Player of the Year at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Belfast on Saturday evening.

The 25-year-old has come of age this season to become a key driving force in the Windsor Park engine room this season, which has included a man of the match performance in the BetMcLean Cup Final against Portadown last month.

McClean, came out on top of a strong three player shortlist which also included Cliftonville’s Rory Hale and Larne’s Andy Ryan.

Loughgall were also big winners, as the Villagers’ picked up two of the other major awards of the evening.

In their first season back in the top-flight since 2008, Loughgall have impressed many with their performances on the pitch, which has included some huge results that had the club chasing a place in the top six prior to the split instead of looking the other direction.

Stephen Baxter

Dean Smith was awarded with the Reavey’s Solicitors Manager of the Year award, coming out on top of a strong shortlist which included David Healy (Linfield), Tiernan Lynch (Larne) and Jim Magilton (Cliftonville).

Young starlet Benji Magee caught the attention of many in his breakthrough season in the Sports Direct Premiership for Loughgall and he went him with the Young Player of the Year award.

Outgoing Crusaders boss, Stephen Baxter was inducted into the Dr. Malcolm Brodie Hall of Fame by NI Football Writers’ Association as he draws to a close his trophy-laded 19-years as manager of the Shore Road club.

The retiring Glenavon Chairman Adrian Teer was acknowledged by the NI Football League for over 40 years’ service to both Glenavon and the League, and also honoured for off-the-pitch activity was popular statistician Marshall Gillespie, who was presented with the NI Football Writers’ Association Merit Award.

Institute’s Shaun Leppard won the Championship Player of the Year, with Alex Pomeroy of Limavady United going home with the Premier Intermediate League player award.

The newly formed PFA NI presented their Player of the Year awards to Rory Hale of Cliftonville (Premiership) and Jordan Jenkins of Dundela (Championship),

Dean Smith