Jamie Glackin (60)
Ben Doherty (66p)


Navid Nasseri (72)


Eoin Bradley gets to the ball ahead of Chris Gallagher (©INPHO/Stephen Hamilton)


Coleraine booked a place in the last eight of the BetMcLean League Cup with victory over ten-man Glentoran at The Showgrounds.

A very tight opening period produced limited opportunities for either side but, on 28 minutes, the Bannsiders were handed an advantage when the Glens were reduced to ten men when James McCarthy was booked for a tackle of Jamie Glackin for what was his second caution of the game.

Coleraine looked to make the most of their extra man before the break with Eoin Bradley heading over from Ben Doherty's left-sided cross before Doherty was himself denied by Elliott Morris when his effort from the edge of the area was tipped over.

Glentoran might have snatched the lead just before the hour when Hrvoje Plum forced Chris Johns nto a save but, just three minutes later, the deadlock was broken when Glackin found the bottom corner with a header from Ian Parkhill's cross.

And Coleraine doubled their advantage six minutes after that courtesy of a Doherty spot-kick awarded after Glackin had been fouled inside the area.

Attempting to hit back straightaway, Plum played Elvio van Overbeek through moments later but, again, Johns was on hand to make the stop.

But he was beaten on 72 minutes when new signing Navid Nasseri pulled a goal back with a strong finish from Conor Pepper's cutback.

Glentoran then had the ball in the net after that after Jonny Frazer swept home at the second attempt but, unfortunately for the visitors, it was ruled out offside.

Coleraine: Johns, Kane, Mullan, Canning, Jarvis, Doherty, Lowry, Bradley, McConaghie, Glackin, Gawne subs Gallagher (not used), Douglas (not used), Carson (replaced Mullan 55), Parkhill (replaced Gawne 55), McGuckin (replaced Glackin 90), Whiteside (not used), Nevin (not used)

Glentoran: Morris, Kane, Gallagher, Frazer, Jallow, Stewart, Pepper, Byrne, Crowe, McCarthy, Đurić subs Nasseri (replaced Đurić 71), Gordon (not used), Plum (replaced Jallow 36), Antolovic (not used), van Overbeek (replaced Byrne 67), McGarvey (not used), Smith (not used)

Referee: Arnold Hunter

Tags:  Coleraine  Glentoran