This website uses cookies. Please click "Accept and Close" to accept the use of cookies on our website. By continuing to browse our website you consent to the use of cookies on this website.

For more information on how we use cookies please visit our Cookie Policy page, or visit our Privacy notice page for more information on how we manage and use data.


04 Jul 2019
© Presseye

Ballymena United are through to the next stage of the Europa League following a scoreless draw with Faroese opponents NSi Runavik in Toftir.

Already two goals up from the first leg at The Showgrounds, David Jeffrey's side completed the job to set up a First Qualifying Round clash with Swedish giants and current Allsvenskan leaders Malmö FF.

Knowing that an away goal would effectively settle the tie United started brightly with Tony Kane and Kofi offering up early chances before efforts from Klaement Olsen and Pol Justinussen gave the home support some encouragement.

Indeed, Runavik needed to score to stand any hope of dropping out of the competition, coming close through Peter Knudsen who rattled the crossbar with a well executed free-kick.

Knudsen looked Runavik's best option, testing Ross Glendinning on further occasions later in the first half.

After the break Cathair Friel and Jude Winchester both had chances only to fail to hit the target, while Adam Lecky had a shot blocked.

Runavik pushed forward more as the clock ticked down but despite Bárður Jógvansson-Hansen, Justinussen and substitute Øssur Dalbúð having openings they never really tested Glendinning nor threatened Ballymena's advantage.

The Sky Blues travel to Sweden for the first leg with Malmö next Thursday before entertaining the former European Cup runners-up a week after that.

NSi Runavik: Thomsen, Højgaard, Davidsen, Nersveen, K. Olsen, Justinussen, J. Mortensen, Hentze, Knudsen, Benjaminsen, Jógvansson-Hansen subs Joensen (not used), Langgaard (not used), O. Olsen (replaced Hentze 85), Dalbúð (replaced J. Mortensen 64), Egilsson (replaced Benjaminsen 74), M. Mortensen (not used), J. Olsen (not used)

Ballymena United: Glendinning, Kane, Whiteside, Friel, McCullough, Carville, Balmer, Winchester, Ervin, Lecky, Millar subs McDermott (not used), Mayse (not used), McGinty (not used), Harpur (replaced Winchester 90+2), Burns (replaced Kane 84), Kelly (not used), Lavery (not used)