Womens Premiership


15 Sep 2023
© Pacemaker Press

Twelve stars of the Sports Direct Women's Premiership have been called up by new Northern Ireland boss Tanya Oxtoby ahead of her first games in charge of the national team.

Oxtoby, appointed earlier this month, will guide the team into a UEFA Women's Nations League double header against the Republic of Ireland in Dublin (23rd September) followed by Albania at Seaview on Tuesday 26th.

Cliftonville Ladies' Kirsty McGuinness has been recalled to the squad after injury but team-mates Kelsie Burrows, Fionnula Morgan and Danielle Maxwell all miss out this time.

McGuinness is one of five Cliftonville players named in the panel alongside Rachel Norney, Abbie Magee, Marissa Callaghan and Caitlin McGuinness.

Glentoran Women are represented by now fewer than six players, namely Demi Vance, Joely Andrews, Nadene Caldwell, Chloe McCarron, Kerry Beattie and Emily Wilson.

In addition, Mid Ulster Ladies keeper Lilie Woods has also been included in the 23-strong panel.

Goalkeepers: Rachael Norney (Cliftonville Ladies), Shannon Turner (Wolverhampton Wanderers Women), Lilie Woods (Mid Ulster Ladies)

Defenders: Rebecca Holloway (Racing Louisville, USA), Abbie Magee (Cliftonville Ladies), Ellie Mason (Birmingham City Women), Sarah McFadden (Durham Women), Rebecca McKenna (Charlton Athletic Women), Laura Rafferty (Southampton Women), Demi Vance (Glentoran Women)

Midfielders: Joely Andrews (Glentoran Women), Megan Bell (Rangers Women), Nadene Caldwell (Glentoran Women), Marissa Callaghan (Cliftonville Ladies), Rachel Furness (Bristol City Women), Caragh Hamilton (Lewes), Chloe McCarron (Glentoran Women)

Forwards: Kerry Beattie (Glentoran Women), Simone Magill (Aston Villa Women), Caitlin McGuinness (Cliftonville Ladies), Kirsty McGuinness (Cliftonville Ladies), Lauren Wade (Reading Women), Emily Wilson (Glentoran Women)